This project is read-only.

Question: What is the difference between shared and exclusive checkout?

- J.D. Meier, Jason Taylor, Alex Mackman, Prashant Bansode

Answer

Team Foundation Server source control supports both shared and exclusive checkouts.

With an exclusive checkout, nobody else can check out a file until you check it back into source control. This can lead to bottlenecks in the development process.

By default, TFS also enables multiple users to check out the same source-controlled item concurrently. This is referred to as shared checkout. With this model, multiple developers can be working on copies of the same source file in their own workspaces. Team Foundation Server knows which version is in a given developer’s workspace, and that developer must resolve conflicts prior to check-in.

In most collaborative development environments, it is unlikely that that you will make a change in your workspace that conflicts with a pending change in another user’s workspace, or vice versa. A great majority of the workspace conflicts that do occur are resolved automatically by TFS. For conflicts that cannot be resolved automatically, you can use the resolve command to safely decide which change (yours or someone else’s) you want to keep.

Additional Resources


Last edited Jul 18, 2007 at 11:54 PM by jtaylorsi, version 9

Comments

No comments yet.