This project is read-only.

How to Remove a Developer Who Has Left Your Project

- J.D. Meier, Jason Taylor, Alex Mackman, Prashant Bansode

If a developer has left your project, make sure that you delete that developer’s workspace. This operation not only helps to ensure the security of your project, but also removes any of the developer’s pending changes and undoes any locks held by the developer.

Note: You cannot undo the locks without undoing the changes if an exclusive lock has been turned on for the team project.

To find out which files the developer has locked out, run the following command:

tf workspaces /owner:domain\devuser /computer:* /server:servername

To delete the workspace and remove locks, run the following command:

tf workspace /delete workspacename;domain\devuser /s:servername

Next, remove the developer’s account from the security groups. To do so, make changes in the following three places:
  • TFS team project – Log on to Visual Studio with an account that is a member of the Team Foundation Administrators application group. Using Team Explorer, right-click the project, point to Team Project Settings, click Group Membership, and then remove the developer’s account from the relevant groups (normally Contributors).
  • SharePoint team project site – Log on to the team site, located at http://server/sites/_yourprojectname_/default.aspx with an administrator account. Click Site Settings, Manage Users and then remove the developer account.
  • SQL Server Reporting Services – Log on to the SQL Server Reporting Services administration Web site using an administrator account. The site is located at http://server/reports. Click your team project name, click the Properties tab, click the Security tab, and then delete the developer’s account.

Additional Resources

Last edited Jul 31, 2007 at 2:20 PM by prashantbansode, version 14

Comments

No comments yet.